Did you ever wonder if you just might be an alcoholic?

David Timothy Kelleher
3 min readFeb 25, 2022

It is strong question, right? I like to drink a few beers in the evening, and a few more at the weekends. I couldn’t imagine going to any event or party without drinking, but that’s normal right? Everybody drinks there. Could I stop drinking if I wanted to? Am I in control? Did I ever stop to ask myself if alcohol is causing me problems in my life? Do I ever neglect my work and my family or myself and my wellbeing? Have I been more stressed with my loved ones than I would have liked? Have I ever lost anything because of my drinking? Still, I continue to drink.. am I an alcoholic?

Alcohol is a highly addictive poison. Another name for the same thing is ethanol - only we wouldn’t dream of consuming it. We only ever put this in our car as fuel.

From the very first drink the tendency is to only want to drink more and more. It’s true that it helps us to feel relaxed after that initial drink - that is a very temporary effect of the alcohol, but this relaxed feeling wears off more quickly than the intoxicating effects of the alcohol. The anxiety that follows is caused by alcohol and it is because of this anxiety that we drink to lessen its effect in the first place! It is a vicious circle.

The impact of this on our body and our mind over time is detrimental. It is a trap and many people who find themselves…

--

--